The Most Overrated Book

Standard

TIEbookmemebutton

Today I am quaking in my boots as I write this post.  But it’s all right to name the book I think is most overrated, right?  Now, before you jump all over me, remember this is just my opinion.  I choose War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy.  Yes, it’s a classic, and yes, I read it.  However, it takes a lot of wading through insignificant words and ramblings to get the true gist of the story and quite frankly, even though the plot is good the book left me feeling “Why did I just spend so much time reading this?”

Ok, your turn to comment.  What is the most overrated book in your opinion?  I’d love to hear from you.

Check out my book, INZARED, Queen of the Elephant Riders or click on my other links to find me.

INZARED bookcoverkindleAmazon Link

Video Trailer

Other places to find L.Leander:

Amazon Author Page

L.Leander Website

FB Author Page  

Visit my other blog:

L.Leander’s Book Reviews and Interviews

8 responses »

  1. It’s a long time since I read it as a teenager but I have to say I really enjoyed it. Perhaps it was because I’d just studied European history for a whole year? Though it also was around the same time as a currnt film of Anna Karenina, so that maybe influenced me too. (ps I was also reading Teh Lord of the Rongs, The Thorn Birds, Gone With the Wind – if it was LONG, I was probably reading it!)

  2. I have to agree with you, Linda. War and Peace is a classic and should be looked at, but a boring read. Many of the classics would fail miserably in today’s readers world. But they, the classics, should be at the very least historical guides for writers.

  3. Pingback: Okay, here’s something you don’t see often – my buddy L. Leander gives her opinion of the most overrated book ever…:) « Thomas Rydder

  4. War and Peace is a difficult novel to get through, as is Anna Karenina but quite a reading experience (I liked them both). But I think it depends on what kind of reader you are. Some of us prefer plot-driven, dialogue-driven novels where the story is tight and fast. The long descriptions and meandering prose that War and Peace has can weigh down the reading. Yeah, sometimes we skim those parts because we don’t care. I don’t think it’s overrated since there are many historical readers, and readers who love to experience the heavy prose style and highly detailed history. I think it becomes more an issue of reading tastes. Reading skills and styles have changed dramatically over the last 100 years. But War and Peace is still worthy as a “reading experience.”

    • I totally agree, Paula. I actually like descriptive prose and perhaps I should revisit this novel as I read it as assigned reading for a class. I may feel totally differently about it now! Thanks for commenting!

  5. I hate to admit this, but I actually read War and Peace TWICE! I was still in high school. I grew up in a small town and I guess I was very bored. I used to get drunk and brag about reading it twice until I met a guy who said he only read it once, but in the original Russian. Hahaha!

    My opinion of the most overrated book ever? “Gone with the Wind” by Margaret Mitchell. Annoying heroine, way too much narrative, and glorification of an economic system (slavery) that was horrific.

    Fun discussion!

    • Just goes to show you how different we all are. I am so impressed that you read the book twice. And as for someone reading it in Russian, wow! If we all loved the same things this would be a very boring world – I like that everyone has different opinions. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

