Aside

Image

 © Maredana http://www.stockfreeimages.com/

Ok, so it’s taking longer than I thought.  Did I really expect this whole publishing thing to be easy?  Yes, yes, yes!!!  I’m astounded at the amount of time I spend on the computer.  It’s attached to my hip.  I can’t leave home without it.  Not only is my manuscript contained within, it holds the key to every aspect of the publishing field.

I said in an earlier post that I would delegate other people to do things for me, form a team.  That’s fine, but I have to find those other people.  So, I am poring through lists of Book Cover Designers, Formatters, Editors, Video Producers…well, you get the drift.

I have spent many hours on research for my book and I will be the first person to tell you how much I enjoy that part of writing.  I  love learning new things and spend a lot of time getting the facts as right as I can in my work of historical fiction, INZARED (Queen of the Elephant Riders).  But I confess it is definitely more interesting to me researching Gypsy folklore than trying to find the right person to format my e-book.

I wish I could wave a magic wand or click my heels and have what I need appear in front of me.  But, sadly, that is not the case.  This book is my dream, my baby, and it’s hard to hand over to just anyone.  Maybe I’m dragging my feet?  Should I go back and rethink my resolution to hire a team?  Should I learn to do all those things myself – formatting, designing, marketing?

No!! I shudder at the thought.  I will keep focused, find people who are good at what they do, and my novel will be better for it.

On a good note, I am finished with my own editing, (even as I whine), and ready to write a crucial chapter to round out the novel.  Once that is done, I’m ready for the next step.  Now, what was that step exactly?????

My link for today is to another e-book I purchased this week.  It’s been holding my hand, singing me to sleep at night, and keeping me calm through the storm.  GO PUBLISH YOURSELF! by Katie Salidas has information on every problem an Indie Author faces.  Katie has been right where I am, and I find the book to be an in-depth guide to navigating the difficult road to publishing.  Wish I had found the book sooner.

L.Leander Books Website

L.Leander Books Facebook Page

Need a book review?  Email me at lleander11@yahoo.com

NAVIGATING THE MAZE

Leave a Reply

