ACCEPTANCE SPEECH AND THANK-YOU

Standard

http://www.dreamstime.com/

Dreamstime Stock Photos

Okay, so the book isn’t even published yet and I’m already writing my acceptance speech.  Hey, a gal can dream, can’t she?

The business of self-publishing is new to me.  I have no idea where to go or which way to turn.  Lucky for me I have great friends and like researching on the internet.  Because of that, getting my book published on Amazon in mid-June is moving right along.  I am very excited to announce that the trailer for INZARED, Queen of the Elephant Riders is finished and ready for viewing.  When I saw it for the first time I cried.  I think it’s because this seed that started to burn deep inside me over three years ago has sprouted wings and is ready to fly.  It is a very emotional thing to have accomplished something people told you wasn’t possible and you did anyway.   Whether because of stubbornness, the drive to succeed, or an internal yearning to do something not many people achieve, I wrote, edited, and worked tirelessly to finish the manuscript.  I didn’t want the novel to end up in a box in the attic only to be tossed out years later by someone who didn’t realize how much it meant to me.  If only for my own satisfaction, I wanted to see this thing through to the end, see my name on the cover, realize I had created something wonderful.  In this frame of mind I want to thank a few people who have been major inspirations and help on my journey.

I was very lucky to have two parents who supported me in every way.  Charles and Arlene Flory were both creative, God-fearing people and believed they could do anything if they worked hard enough.  So my biggest thanks has to go to them for instilling the same values in me.

I also have to thank the naysayers in my life.  Because of you I dug in and persevered, and even though you didn’t believe in me, I knew I could do it.  All I have to say to you is “How Do You Like Me Now?”

As a songwriter I have been blessed with many musician friends, but Jim and Peggy Kaufman get the credit for being the most kind-hearted, supportive people I have ever known and for giving me confidence, courage and unconditional love.  Also, Carl Wade, a fellow musician for a little pep talk he gave me at a gig some years ago, when I fell apart because I was nervous.  I have never forgotten your words and have held them in my heart.

Shortly after I began writing INZARED, Queen of the Elephant Riders, I was invited to a writer’s group in Mazatlan, Mexico.  Thank you, Betty Bradford, for pushing me out of the nest.  I owe much of my writing to you because that group became the hub of friends who encouraged me every step of the way.  I would have never gotten to the place I am right now without another friend, Judy Ford.  We laughed and cried together, read each other’s writing and critiqued, edited pages of text – thank you for everything.

I cannot say enough good things about Leslea Newmann, my editor.  She is everything you dream of in an editor.  Firm, kind, caring.  She taught me so much about the craft of writing, and it is because of her love of the circus (and mine) that this book is able to be published.

While I was researching for a video trailer designer I happened on a link for Wordslinger Boutique.  Connie Chastain is amazing to work with.  She totally saw my vision for the video and worked tirelessly to make the trailer one of which I would be proud.  If you need her services I cannot recommend her enough.

Cover designer Melissa Garlington and Art Director Michael Latta came up with the most beautiful cover I could have asked for.  It is exactly what I envisioned and I am proud of it.

I have a very special husband who has done all the chores, cooked, cleaned, and given me time to write.  Thank you, Ralph Baumann, for your amazing love and cooperation.  And thank you to my daughter Angel Artrip, who has been in it for the long haul and has cheered me on every step of the way.

I will, however, have to dedicate this book to one person.  In each of our lives there comes along that special someone who enters just when we need them most.  I met fellow author Ethel Stockton in the Mazatlan Writer’s Group.  We hit it off and even though she was in her nineties, she was an inspiration to us all.  I spent many hours with Ethel talking about writing and critiquing each other’s work.  She was also a mean Scrabble player and we shared a love of that game, playing as often as we could.  I can still see her grin when she thought she had “stumped” someone.   One of my favorite memories is of taking Ethel to the circus in Mazatlan.  At 92 she sat in the front row and laughed and clapped as hard as the children did.  We had a wonderful night enjoying the sights, the sounds, the smells of the circus.  Even though she is no longer with us, my memory of Ethel is on that night, her smile the brightest in the arena and her laugh the happiest.

There are many more friends and relatives who have helped me on the journey to finish INZARED, Queen of the Elephant Riders.  Please don’t for one moment think I don’t appreciate you just as much as those mentioned.  You are all an inspiration to me and you know who you are.

INZARED, Queen of the Elephant Riders, is due to be published in Kindle Format on Amazon.com in mid June.  So, everyone, (drum roll please!) Ladies and Gentlemen, let me present the video trailer for INZARED, Queen of the Elephant Riders.

INZARED, Queen of the Elephant Riders Video

L.Leander Books Website

L.Leander Books Facebook Page

One response »

  1. i agree my mother is a very awesome determined woman she sets out on a goal and keeps going till it is finished she has been such an inspiration to me my 42 years of life. i am so proud of her and all her accomplishments in life and especially her book . she deserves all the best in life! love ya mom

Leave a Reply

