The Most Underrated Book

Standard

This assignment made me hunt through the vast library of my brain (and it’s scary in theTIEbookmemebutton dark!) to remember what I had read that I felt was underrated.  Suddenly I remembered Cross Creek by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings.  This book is still with me today in the sometimes-poignant, sometimes-brash storytelling style of a masterful writer who knew the area she wrote about and loved the history and people of the land.  While some of the content is considered racist and condescending, the author’s brilliant depictions of the Florida landscape and the place she carved out for herself in Cross Creek is not to be missed.  The animals, the villagers, and the land are all fodder for Ms. Rawling’s descriptive style and it’s worth a read to find out for yourself if you feel the same.

Have you read Cross Creek?  Do you agree with me?  Disagree?  Leave a comment below.

Check out my book, INZARED, Queen of the Elephant Riders or click on my other links to find me.

INZARED bookcoverkindleAmazon Link

Video Trailer

Other places to find L.Leander:

Amazon Author Page

L.Leander Website

FB Author Page  

Visit my other blog:

L.Leander’s Book Reviews and Interviews

 

2 responses »

  1. I haven’t read Marjorie’s book but since my mind is turned toward Florida these day I think I will give it a read. As for underrated books. I have a long list of books and authors. Now that I’ve been reading so many indie authors I find some true gems that should be making headlines, but it’s so difficult for a writer to be a great marketer and do all the things that is needed to get their books out there.

Leave a Reply

