A Book I Thought I Wouldn’t Like But Ended Up Loving

Standard

TIEbookmemebuttonThis is a strange post for me but I didn’t have to think for long to come up with a title.  I have always disliked reading Science Fiction.  I still dislike reading Science Fiction.  However, because of all the hype surrounding it and probably due to the fact that I was working in a library and had to review new books, I read 2001: A Space Odyssey by Arthur C. Clarke.  I was very surprised to find that I really enjoyed the book and found the writing interesting and exciting.  The author tells a brilliant story of a monolith over 3 million years old found on the moon.  When unearthed, it sends a powerful signal to Saturn and a spaceship “The Discovery” is sent to investigate.  The issues that arise from the human characteristics possessed by the computer, Hal 9000 are fabulous.  The plot is brilliantly written and causes the reader to wonder what he or she would do in the same situation.  I also saw the movie after I had read the book and loved it, as well.  Although I did read the sequel to this book and tried other writers in the Sci-Fi genre I never again found a book that interested me the way this one did.  It’s why I never say never – there’s always a diamond in the rough!

What do you think?  Have you read a different book you thought you’d hate but ended up loving?  Leave a comment and let’s discuss it!

Check out my book, INZARED, Queen of the Elephant Riders or click on my other links to find me.


INZARED bookcoverkindleAmazon Link

Video Trailer

Other places to find L.Leander:

Amazon Author Page

L.Leander Website

FB Author Page  

Visit my other blog:

L.Leander’s Book Reviews and Interviews

 

Leave a Reply

