A Book That Disappointed Me – Day 18 of Book MeMe

Standard

The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski is the book that gets the award here.  ITIEbookmemebutton read this fascinating story for my book club.  I was so wrapped up in the book that I couldn’t put it down.  I read it nonstop.  I have never been so let down by an ending in my life.  I remember sitting in my chair, dumbfounded.  What?  Is that it?  How can the author leave it this way?  So, although the writing was excellent, the characters came alive on the page, and the setting was perfect, I couldn’t remember anything I had just read because I was so upset over how it ended.  If you read the reviews on Amazon, you’ll find that I wasn’t the only person that felt this way.  Would I read it again?  Probably, because it’s a great book (until the end).  I have no idea what the author was thinking, but I’m sure he had his reasons.  However, I remain disappointed in the book because of the big letdown.

INZARED bookcoverkindleAmazon Link

Video Trailer

Other places to find L.Leander:

Amazon Author Page

L.Leander Website

FB Author Page

2 responses »

  1. A bad ending to a book can be gut wrenchingly disappointing after spending hours reading a book you’ve enjoyed.It defies belief so much that you have to re-read it in case you’ve missed something. I’ve had one or two disappointments like this and despite having enjoyed the writing up to that point I’ve never gone back to the author again. Unless the book was self-edited it’s a surprise the lack of a decent ending wasn’t picked up before.

  2. I agree with your thoughts exactly, in fact, I went to Amazon to see if I was the only one who thought this about the book. The reviews there are overwhelming – the book disappointed many due to the way it ended. Really sad in this case, because it is very well-written and holds your attention. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

