Sacrifice by Coral Russell – Book Release and Tour

Standard

sacrifice_1Please help me welcome author Coral Russell on a stop of her book tour for her latest novel, titled Sacrifice.  Coral has written an insightful post on aging and if you’ll scroll farther down the page you’ll see her author bio and a description of the book.  But first let me share a delightful clip of Mariachi Vargas music titled:

Mariachi Vargas de Tecalitlan – Popurri Mis Caballos

Their music is beautiful and much in demand in Mexico.

 

Getting Old Is Not For Wimps

by Coral Russell

The story Sacrifice has several elderly people in it.

Roberta has to go to a home for the elderly at the beginning of the story. Duke has a great-grandmother that helped raised him who ends up in the hospital. Alicia has an elderly grandfather who has reached the point where he needs full-time care.

I did this on purpose in case you’re wondering.

For one the U.S.’s population is getting older and which present certain challenges. My grandmother on my father’s side just turned ninety. Her husband, my grandfather, passed away several years ago. What I noticed were causal comments by my grandmother that started fifteen, twenty years ago like — ‘All of our friends are sick’ which progressed to ‘All of our friend are in a home.’ which progressed to ‘All of our friends are gone.’

That caught my attention. What would it feel like to experience the rest of your family passing away. Now none of her children or grandchildren, or great-grandchildren have passed (knock-on-wood) but I’m sure there is a part of her that misses family/friends. The people you grew up with and the friends you ran around with as a child.

I moved back to El Paso several years ago because of my mother getting older and a medical scare that has since been under control and my grandfather who also turned ninety and became ill. My mother had to move in to help take care of him. We lived too far away when all of this first happened but the two events happening so close together pushed me to consider moving closer to family if only for the sake of my child. My kid deserved to spend some time with them and there was always the chance that there wouldn’t be enough time.

I don’t think I explored aging and care-giving at great length in Sacrifice, but since those things were forefront in my mind while I was writing, they seeped into the story. When Roberta thinks, “I never want to get that old.” It’s something I’ve thought watching my grandparents’ health deteriorate.

Growing old and those watching and dealing with how to care for those growing old is not for wimps.

Coral Russell Bio:

coralrussell_1Coral Russell lives in the southwest with her hubby, baby Godzilla sized kid and an adorable dog with which she shares a one-way thermal dynamic relationship. She blogs off and on at alchemyofscrawl – http://alchemyscrawl.com

There you can find links to her on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Google+, and email.

Along with her brain buddy, Donna, she volunteers at The Indie Exchange – http://indieexchange.com – a group of authors, readers, and book bloggers who post reviews, articles, and giveaways. Listen in Fridays to their radio show at http://blogtalkradio.com/alchemyofscrawl

Ms. Russell won the 2003 McCaleb Peace Initiative which produced the non-fiction articles Peace on the Peninsula. All profit from the sale of that eBook go to rebuilding Joplin, MO.

Don’t forget to enter the Giveaway!

You have a chance at some awesome prizes. Check these out!

10 Sacrifice eBooks ~ Kindle, ePub, PDF (Int’l)

2 $10 Amazon Gift Cards (Int’l)

$159 Kindle Fire (US Only) or Paypal Cash (Int’l)

Click on this rafflecopter link to enter

L.Leander Books is NOT responsible for distributing the prizes. All prizes will be distributed by Coral Russell atalchemyofscrawl@yahoo.com

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Brutal Music & Dance- Fourth-Wall Friday with Coral Russell

Leave a Reply

