Imagination Universe, Bipolar Bears, and Mind Gremlins

Standard

This is such an important post I want to share it with everyone. Today’s post on Writing Wranglers and Warriors is written by author Craig Snider. While both witty and informative, it touches on the difference by “normal” people and those with mental illness who are authors. Great read!

Writing Wranglers and Warriors

Portrait

This post by Craig Snider

Have you ever heard an artist saying any of the following?

1. I only create when I feel the muse.

2. I wait for inspiration.

3. Write drunk, edit sober.

4. I have to be high to create.

5. I stopped taking my medication because it inhibited my creativity.

6. Monkeys made me do it.

Do as I say hairless monkey human!!

Okay, that last one is just me. But, I’m sure you’ve heard the gamut of these things before. There is a great lack of knowledge about where creativity comes from, and how to harness it. We’ve often heard that many of our favorite authors were troubled in some way, and that those troubles fueled their creativity somehow. Many writers feel they have to be drunk or high in order to reach some higher plane of creative ability. And, I’m sure that to some…

View original post 976 more words

About L. LEANDER BOOKS

Author of Fearless Fiction, L.Leander is an author, freelancer and songwriter. She says she credits her love of singing to her father, and her artistic talents to her mother, who was a painter. Both loved to read and write poems and short stories. "Nothing makes me as happy as curling up with a good book, or my guitar," Ms. Leander says. INZARED, QUEEN OF THE ELEPHANT RIDERS is the author's first novel. She is currently working on the sequel and a non-fiction series.

Leave a Reply

